Welcome to Harald Dickler - Special Optics for Laser Technology

News
EHLA – Extreme High-Speed Laser Material Deposition with HIGHNO-Powder Nozzle.
© HD Sonderoptiken für die Lasertechnik

WE HAVE MOVED!



MORE ROOM FOR NEW CHALLENGES

Due to our steady growth, our current premises at the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology in Aachen were ultimately no longer able to keep pace. In order to be prepared for the future and to enable further continuous growth, we therefore looked around for new premises during the year and found what we were looking for in Übach-Palenberg.

From 01.01.2021 you can find us at the following address:

Harald Dickler – Special Optics for Laser Technology
F. W.-Raiffeisen-Straße 31A
52531 Übach-Palenberg


PROFILE



Your partner for powder nozzles for EHLA and LMD

The company was founded in 2005 and is based at the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT in Aachen.

We have many years of experience in the development of special optics and tools for laser technology. Here, the focus is mainly on powder supply systems for LMD and EHLA. Due to the close cooperation with our partner Fraunhofer ILT, we are working on reliable, industrial solutions for series production.

We not only offer customer-specific solutions for a wide range of tasks, but also support you with our extensive know-how in application and process development. In addition, we advise you in the selection of suitable nozzle technology and other coating components to increase efficiency. A wide range of powder nozzles are available.

Together with our partners we will find the optimal solution for your application in the field of LMD and EHLA.


NEWS



HIGHNO 5.0W - Coaxial Powder Nozzle with direct water-cooled Tips

Due to the continuous development of laser beam sources with high laser powers for LMD and EHLA, the coaxial powder nozzles (continuous powder feed) with indirect cooling are reaching the limits of their performance. Despite the clear technical advantages, the partially high back reflections limit the possible applications of this nozzle configuration. To reduce this gap, we have further developed our HighNo powder nozzle. With the HighNo 5.0W, HD has created the first coaxial powder nozzle with directly water-cooled nozzle tips. These are also equipped with wear-resistant coatings to increase service life.



img02

HIGHNO 5.0W

img02

HIGHNO 5.0W - Nozzle tips module





DISCRETE POWDER NOZZLES

HD offers with the discrete powder nozzle "HighNo - 6" a robust solution for additive manufacturing with high deposition rates. Here, 6 powder gas streams, guided coaxially to the laser beam, generate a powder focus, which enables the application of 3D contours even in constrained positions. Due to the direct water cooling and the large nozzle distance (20 mm) an application at large laser powers (up to 20 kW) is possible. Therefore it is not sensitive to back reflections or flying particles. The modular design of the nozzle allows the use of wear-resistant precision tubes (inlays) of different dimensions for variable powder gas beam focuses. Depending on the application, this allows in particular larger powder mass flows and consequently thicker and wider layers to be applied. Customer-side replacement of wear parts (e.g. inlays) and adaptation to different processing optics is possible at any time.



img02

Discrete Powder Nozzle HIGHNO 13 - 6 (Standoff: 13 mm)

img02

Discrete Powder Nozzle HIGHNO 20 - 6 (Standoff: 20 mm)





PRODUCTS




Powder Nozzles


Rapid-Powder-Switch


Powder Distributor


Adjustment Unit


Beam Guiding Systems


Cardanic Deflector

APPLICATIONS



ENVIRONMENTAL POLLUTION FROM BRAKE DISCS

According to the Federal Environment Agency, the largest proportion of fine dust in traffic (approx. 60%) comes from abrasion of brakes, tires and the road. Technical solutions to reduce environmental pollution are still being tested or are not available. Expensive ceramic techniques are used for more wear-resistant tires and brake pads due to the lack of cheap alternatives. But the situation with the brake discs looks much more problematic, because there is no alternative to its manufacturing. There is no economical and above all environmentally friendly replacement. In particular due to the high loads in operation, they are one of the most stressed components on the car. Cast iron with embedded graphite is predominantly used here, but the price-performance ratio has so far justified the use of this material - despite the undisputed disadvantages.


However, this inexpensive material leads to high fine dust emissions during operation and therefore represents an immense environmental burden. The widespread coating processes such as electroplating or thermal spraying proved unsuitable as they cannot effectively protect the brake discs.

  • No metallurgical bonding on cast iron
  • Brittle phases, pores and cracks in the coating or connection zone
  • A considerable amount of material (approx. 50% powder efficiency) and costs involved


EHLA AS A SOLUTION FOR REDUCING FINE PARTICULATE EMISSIONS

The special process control in the EHLA enables the production of low-wear brake discs:

  • Metallurgical bonding on cast iron
  • No flaking off of the layers as with conventional methods
  • Free of pores and cracks in the layer
  • Very low thermal impact and thus reduced distortion of the component
  • Efficient and long-term protection of brake discs

This type of process control enables quick and economical coating of wear and corrosion protection layers for the first time. This leads to a drastic reduction in the environmental impact of fine dust:

  • Less brake dust ⇒ up to 90% reduction in emissions from fine dust
  • Fewer disc changes by increasing the service life ⇒ service life over the entire car life cycle
  • Use of environmentally friendly materials
  • Low consumption of resources (approx. 90% powder efficiency)
  • Saving valuable resources through thin layers
  • Less post-treatment
  • Innovative material combinations possible


Link: Press release "New Fraunhofer coating process provides effective protection for brake discs"




Coating of a brake disc by EHLA with HighNo - Powder Nozzle

The video shows a brake disc which is coated by "Extreme High-speed Laser Material Deposition". This coating technology enables the economical production of low-wear brake discs with significantly reduced fine dust emissions.


TECHNOLOGY




EXTREME HIGH-SPEED LASER MATERIAL DEPOSITION KNOWN BY ITS GERMAN ACRONYM EHLA

The EHLA process is a patented and award-winning process from the Fraunhofer-Institute for Laser Technology in Aachen. This is a revolutionary approach for the production of corrosion and wear resistant layers. This process is a further development of conventional laser cladding (LC), in which the innovation of the process method is defined by

  • complete melting of the powder through targeted interaction of radiation and powder particles above the melting bath and
  • apply in liquid form to the component surface.

Compared to conventional LC, higher process speeds and consequently higher coating rates are possible. Coatings can now be produced faster and more economically, while maintaining the decisive quality features of conventional LC (including metallurgically bonded layers without pores and cracks). The following pictures show the technological and economic advantages of the EHLA-process, which finally enable the process to be used in a large-scale production.



PDF: EHLA: Extreme High-Speed Laser Material Deposition

PDF: Coating hydraulic cylinders by EHLA © Fraunhofer ILT

PDF: Certified coatings with the EHLA process© Fraunhofer ILT

PDF: Powder Nozzle for EHLA Process© Fraunhofer ILT


AWARDS FOR EHLA PROCESS

The team from the Fraunhofer-Institute for Laser Technology has received several awards for its work in developing an alternative to chrome plating:

img02

Steel Innovation Award 2018

img02

Berthold Leibinger Innovation Award 2018

img02

Joseph-von-Fraunhofer Award 2017



LASER MATERIAL DEPOSITION

Laser material deposition or also known as cladding is one of the generative manufacturing processes. Here, a filler material in powder form is injected through a powder nozzle into the molten bath generated by the laser beam on the component surface and melted there. By moving the laser beam or the coating optics relative to the component and overlapping individual tracks, a layer is created on the component. The maximum process speeds achieved here are around 15-20 m / min. The main process features are:

  • high-precision, automated application of layers with thicknesses from 0.1 millimeters to several centimeters
  • metallurgical bonding of the layer with the base material (free of pores and cracks)
  • low heat input into the substrate
  • No penetration notches / undercuts
  • High flexibility thanks to a large selection of same and different compositions
  • Machining of almost all metallic alloys possible
  • High reproducibility
  • Little post-treatment due to close-contour layer application

PDF: Laser Technology for Repair and Functionalization© Fraunhofer ILT

SERVICE



  • Feasibility studies / process development
    • Laser cladding (inner and outer contours)
    • EHLA – Extreme High-speed laser cladding
    • Laser cutting
    • Laser welding
    • Laser hardening
    • Laser soldering
  • Advice and recommendation of suitable powder nozzles for the respective application
  • Development / modification of powder nozzles on customer request
  • Training

PARTNER/CUSTOMER



CONTACT

To contact us please send an E-Mail.

HD Sonderoptiken für die Lasertechnik

F. W.-Raiffeisen-Straße 31A
52531 Übach-Palenberg

+49 2451 6169 989
+49 2541 6169 988
info@harald-dickler.de

Office Hours

Monday - Friday: 9 AM - 5 PM

Willkommen bei Harald Dickler - Sonderoptiken für die Lasertechnik

Aktuelles
EHLA – Extremhochgeschwindigkeits – Laserauftragschweißen mit der HIGHNO-Pulverdüse.
© HD Sonderoptiken für die Lasertechnik

PROFIL



Ihr Partner rund um Pulverdüsen fürs EHLA und LMD

Das Unternehmen wurde im Jahr 2005 gegründet und hat seinen Sitz am Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik ILT in Aachen.

Wir verfügen über langjährige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Sonderoptiken und Werkzeuge für die Lasertechnik. Hierbei stehen vor allem Pulverzufuhrsysteme für das LMD und EHLA im Vordergrund. Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Kooperationspartner Fraunhofer ILT arbeiten wir hierbei an zuverlässige, industrietaugliche Lösungen für den Serieneinsatz.

Wir bieten nicht nur kundenspezifische Lösungen für die unterschiedlichsten Aufgabenstellungen, sondern unterstützen Sie mit unserem umfangreichen Know-How auch in der Applikation und Prozessentwicklung. Zusätzlich beraten wir Sie in der Auswahl geeigneter Düsentechnologie und weiteren Beschichtungskomponenten zur Erhöhung der Wirtschaftlichkeit. Eine große Bandbreite an Pulverdüsen steht uns dabei zur Verfügung.

Zusammen mit unseren Partnern finden wir die optimale Lösung für Ihre Applikation im Bereich EHLA und LMD.


AKTUELLES



DISKRETE PULVERDÜSEN

HD bietet mit der diskreten Pulverdüse "HighNo - 6" eine robuste Lösung für die additive Fertigung mit hohen Auftragsraten. Hierbei erzeugen 6 koaxial zum Laserstrahl geführte Pulvergasströme einen Pulvergasstrahlfokus, die das Auftragen von 3D-Konturen auch in Zwangslagen ermöglichen. Durch die direkte Wasserkühlung und dem großen Düsenabstand (20 mm) ist ein Einsatz bei großen Laserleistungen (bis zu 20 kW) möglich. Dadurch ist sie nicht empfindlich gegenüber Rückreflektionen oder zurückfliegende Partikel. Die modulare Bauweise der Düse erlaubt den Einsatz von verschleißbeständigen Präzisionsröhrchen (Inlays) verschiedener Abmessungen für variable Pulvergasstrahlfoki. Je nach Anwendung lassen sich damit vor allem auch größere Pulvermassenströme und folglich dickere und breiter Schichten auftragen. Kundenseitiger Austausch der Verschleißteile (z. B. Inlays) und die Adaption an unterschiedliche Bearbeitungsoptiken ist jederzeit möglich.



Diskrete Pulverdüse HIGHNO 13 - 6 (Standoff: 13 mm)

Diskrete Pulverdüse HIGHNO 20 - 6 (Standoff: 20 mm)





Beschichtung einer Bremsscheibe durch EHLA mit HighNo - Pulverdüse

Das Video zeigt eine Bremsscheibe, welches mit dem "extremen Hochgeschwindigkeits-Laserauftragschweißen" beschichtet wird. Diese Beschichtungstechnologie ermöglicht die wirtschaftliche Herstellung von verschleißarmen Bremsscheiben mit deutlich veringerter Feinstaubemission.



HighNo - Wechsel des Düsenspitzenmoduls

Um die Produktivität bei EHLA- und LMD-Prozessen zu steigern, ist es erforderlich, die Rüstzeiten zu verkürzen. Dazu gehört auch ein einfacher und schneller Pulverdüsenwechsel bei eventuellem Verschleiß oder Beschädigung. Der monolithische Aufbau der HighNo-Pulverdüsen ermöglicht es, die Düsenspitzen durch das Pulver-Gas-Strahl-Analysegerät (PGSA) vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik ILT bereits vorher zu qualifizieren und anschließend diese in Produktionsstätten höchst zuverlässig ohne Qualitätsverlust auszutauschen. Durch diese neue Düsentechnik ist auch ein Serieneinsatz möglich. Das Video zeigt einen Düsenspitzenwechsel in einer EHLA-Umgebung, für eine eindeutige Darstellung wurden jeweils eine be- und unbeschichtete Düsenspitze verwendet.



Umweltbelastung durch Bremsscheiben

Laut Umweltbundesamt stammt der größte Feinstaub-Anteil im Verkehr (ca. 60 %) vom Abrieb von Bremsen, Reifen und der Straße. Technische Lösungen zur Reduzierung der Umweltbelastung befinden sich noch in der Erprobung oder sind nicht vorhanden. Zwar wird für abriebfestere Reifen und Bremsbeläge aus Mangel an günstigen Alternativen auf teure Keramiktechniken zurückgegriffen. Aber die Situation bei den Bremsscheiben sieht erheblich problematischer aus, denn ihre Herstellung ist alternativlos. Es existiert kein kostengünstiger und vor allem umweltfreundlicher Ersatz. Insbesondere durch die hohen Belastungen im Betrieb gehören sie gleichwohl zu den am stärksten beanspruchten Bauteilen am Auto. Überwiegend wird hierbei Gusseisen mit eingelagertem Graphit verwendet, das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis rechtfertigt allerdings den Einsatz dieses Werkstoffs bisher - trotz der unbestrittenen Nachteile.


Dieser kostengünstige Werkstoff führt aber zu hoher Feinstaubemission im Betrieb und stellt damit eine immense Umweltbelastung dar. Die weit verbreiteten Beschichtungsprozesse wie galvanotechnische Verfahren oder thermisches Sprizen haben sich als ungeeignet erwiesen, da sie die Bremsscheiben nicht effektiv schützen können.

  • Sie weisen keine metallurgische Verbindung der Schicht mit dem Gusseisen auf.
  • Sie erzeugen spröde Phasen, Poren und Risse in der Beschichtung oder Anbindungszone.
  • Es entsteht ein hoher Material- und Kostenaufwand (ca. 50 % Pulverwirkungsgrad).


EHLA als Lösung zur Reduzierung von Feinstaubemission

Die besondere Prozessführung beim EHLA-Verfahren ermöglicht die Herstellung von verschleißarmen Bremsscheiben:

  • metallurgische Verbindung auf Gusseisen
  • kein Abplatzen der Schichten wie bei herkömmlichen Verfahren
  • poren- und rissfreie Schichten
  • sehr geringe thermische Belastung und damit Verzug des Bauteils
  • effizienter und langfristiger Schutz der Bremsscheiben

Durch diese Art der Prozessführung ist erstmalig eine schnelle und wirtschaftliche Beschichtung von Verschleiß- und Korrosionsschutzschichten möglich. Dies führt zur drastischen Reduzierung der Umweltbelastung durch Feinstaub:

  • weniger Bremsstaub ⇒ bis zu 90% Reduktion der Feinstaubemission durch Feinstaub
  • seltener Scheibenwechsel durch Erhöhung der Lebensdauer ⇒ Standzeit über den gesamten Auto-Lebenszyklus möglich
  • Verwendung umweltfreundlicher Materialien
  • geringer Verbrauch von Ressourcen (ca. 90% Pulverwirkungsgrad)
  • Einsparung wertvoller Ressourcen durch dünne Schichten
  • geringe Nacharbeit
  • innovative Materialkombinationen möglich


Link: Pressemeldung "Bremsscheiben effektiv schützen durch neues Fraunhofer-Beschichtungsverfahren"



HIGHNO - HIGH QUALITY POWDER NOZZLE

HD hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik ILT eine neue Pulverdüse entwickelt, die als Plug-and-Play-Lösung für die Serienfertigung eingesetzt werden kann. Das neue Prinzip sieht einen monolithischen Aufbau des Pulverspitzenmoduls, bestehend aus Innen- und Außenkonus, vor. Dieses Modul kann über entsprechende Form- und Lagetoleranzen vormontiert und ohne Notwendigkeit einer manuellen Justage ausgetauscht werden. Sowohl das Spaltmaß als auch die Verschleißbeständigkeit der Pulverdüse können je nach Kundenwunsch angepasst werden. Dabei erfolgt die Umrüstung vor Ort in sehr kurzer Zeit (1-2 Minuten) ohne Qualitätseinbußen.

HIGHNO - Pulverdüse

HIGHNO - Monolithisches Düsenspitzenmodul


TECHNOLOGIE




Extremes Hochgeschwindigkeits-Laserauftragschweißen (EHLA-Verfahren)

Das EHLA-Verfahren ist ein patentiertes und mehrfach ausgezeichnetes Verfahren des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Lasertechnik Aachen. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen revolutionären Ansatz zur Herstellung von Korrosions- und Verschleißschutzschichten. Dieses Verfahren ist eine Weiterentwicklung des konventionellen Laserauftragschweißens (LA), bei der die Innovation der Verfahrensmethode darin besteht, dass

  • vollständiges Aufschmelzen des Pulvers durch gezielte Wechselwirkung von Strahlung und Pulverpartikeln bereits oberhalb des Schmelzbades und
  • Auftragen in flüssiger Form auf die Bauteiloberfläche

erfolgt. Damit sind im Vergleich zum konventionellen LA höhere Prozessgeschwindigkeiten und folglich höhere Beschichtungsraten möglich. Beschichtungen können nun schneller und wirtschaftlicher hergestellt werden, unter Beibehaltung der entscheidenden Qualitätsmerkmale durch das konventionelle LA (u.a. metallurgisch verbundene Schichten ohne Poren und Risse). Die folgenden Bilder zeigen die technologischen und wirtschaftlichen Vorteile des EHLA-Verfahrens, die damit dem Verfahren endgültig einen Großserieneinsatz ermöglichen.



PDF: EHLA: Extreme High-Speed Laser Material Deposition

PDF: Beschichten von Hydraulikzylindern durch Hochgeschwindigkeits-Laserauftragschweißen © Fraunhofer ILT

PDF: Zertifizierte Beschichtungen mit dem EHLA-Verfahren © Fraunhofer ILT

PDF: Pulverdüse für das EHLA-Verfahren © Fraunhofer ILT


Auszeichnungen für das EHLA-Verfahren

Für die Leistung zur Entwicklung einer Alternativen für das Verchromen wurde das Team vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik mehrfach ausgezeichnet:

img02

Stahl Innovationspreis 2018

img02

Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis 2018

img02

Joseph-von-Fraunhofer Preis 2017



Laserstrahl-Auftragschweißen

Das Laserstrahl-Auftragschweißen gehört zu den generativen Fertigungsverfahren. Hierbei wird ein pulverförmiger Zusatzwerkstoff durch eine Pulverdüse in das vom Laserstrahl erzeugte Schmelzbad auf der Bauteiloberfläche injiziert und dort geschmolzen. Durch Verfahren des Laserstrahls bzw. der Beschichtungsoptik relativ zum Bauteil und der Überlappung von Einzelspuren entsteht eine Schicht auf dem Bauteil. Die erreichten maximalen Prozessgeschwindigkeiten liegen hier bei ca. 15-20 m/min. Die wesentlichen Verfahrensmerkmale sind:

  • hochpräzises, automatisiertes Auftragen von Schichten mit Dicken von 0,1 Millimeter bis zu mehreren Zentimetern
  • metallurgische Verbindung der Schicht mit dem Grundwerkstoff (poren- und rissfrei)
  • geringe Wärmeeinbringung in das Substrat
  • Keine Einbrandkerben
  • Hohe Flexibilität durch große Auswahl an artgleichen und artfremden Zusatzwerkstoffen
  • Bearbeitung von nahezu allen metallischen Legierungen möglich
  • Hohe Reproduzierbarkeit
  • Geringe Nacharbeit aufgrund konturnahem Schichtauftrag

PDF: Lasertechnik für Instandsetzung und Funktionalisierung © Fraunhofer ILT

PRODUKTE




Pulverdüsen


Schneller Pulverwechselschalter


Pulververteiler


Verstelleinheit


Strahlformungssysteme


Kardanischer Umlenker

SERVICE



  • Machbarkeitsstudien/Prozessentwicklung
    • Laserauftragschweißen (Innen- und Außenkonturen)
    • EHLA – Extremes Hochgeschwindigkeits-Laserauftragschweißen
    • Laserschneiden
    • Laserschweißen
    • Laserhärten
    • Laserlöten
  • Beratung und Empfehlung geeigneter Pulverdüsen für die jeweilige Applikation
  • Entwicklung/Modifikation von Pulverdüsen auf Kundenwunsch
  • Schulungen

PARTNER/KUNDEN



KONTAKT

Hier können Sie uns eine Nachricht zukommen lassen. Bitte senden Sie uns dafür eine E-Mail.

HD Sonderoptiken

Steinbachstr. 15
52074 Aachen

+49 241 8906-438
+49 241 8906-444
info@harald-dickler.de

Bürozeiten

Montag - Freitag: 9 Uhr bis 17 Uhr